News Ticker

$11,000 in scholarships awarded

SAINT AUGUSTINE – Two scholarship recipients announced plans to attend Embry University in Daytona Beach, one will be studying at Anderson University, another student will start her higher education at the community college level and then transfer to the University of Florida; and four women will be  re-entering the workforce after raising families.


Alexandra Petrilli, Scott Kophamer and Matthew Robinson.

Those were goals outlined recently, when the Pilot Club of St. Augustine staged its annual scholarship dinner. Scholarships totaled $13,000,  with the majority coming from the Hester’s Abbey Scholarships, presented by Scott and Elizabeth Kophamer through the Pilot Club.

“Challenge yourself. Read outside the box,” Scott Kophamer told the gathering after being introduced by Lynne Stephenson, who coordinates the awards for the Hester honors. “Each year I think of a way to thank Scott and Elizabeth for the scholarships, which this year total $11,000,” Stephenson said.

Hester scholarships of $5,000 each were presented to Alexandra Petrilli and Matthew Robinson, both students at St. Augustine High school. Petrilli plans to attend Anderson University and Robinson will be studying at Embry-Riddle University.


Hannah Hodge and Laurence Gosselin

The $1,000 Donnie Heymen Scholarship award was presented to the construction program at Pedro-Menendez High School, with students Laurence Gosselin and Hannah Hodge, along with Menendez High School teacher Christine Danner, accepting the check on behalf of the school.

Hodge placed third in the architectural drafting competition at the recent Skills competition in Pensacola; and Gosselin placed fourth. Hodge plans to attend Embry-Riddle in the fall; and Gosselin will begin at St. Johns River Community College and then transfer to the University of North Florida.

A third member of the Menendez Skills team, Mohammad Knio placed fifth in Pensacola.

Peggy Blair-Hall, administrative assistant at SJRCC, announced the recipients of the $500 awards. All four women are stay-at-home mothers who want to re-enter the workforce. Kimberly Jarvis, mother of four, attended the dinner. The other three: Courtney Prince, Debbie Bohannon and Michelle Defresne were in class at the time.


About Anne Heymen (146 Articles)
Retired after 49 years in major media publication, Anne spends her time as Contributing Editor to PluggedIn whenever her two cats allow her some time to herself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: