News Ticker

Honoring the Royal Trio

The 2020 Royal Trio includes Coleman Taylor, as king; Linda Murphy, queen; and Janelle Hersey, princess.

SAINT AUGUSTINE – There will be no Easter Festival celebration this year due to the coronavirus threat.

Earlier this year, however, the 2020 Royal Trio was selected, but due to the pandemic, the new trio will preside over festivities in 2021, according to Sandy Hooker Tilton, current festival president.

Jacqueline Loipez McCraw was the first Easter Festival queen.

The ruling trio: the boy King Carlos, his mother, Queen Isabella and his sister, Princess Margarita Maria, are selected from those who are referred to as heritage natives of St. Augustine. This was the ruling family in Spain in 1672, the year construction was begun on St. Augustine’s Castillo de San Marcos.

Chosen for 2020 were Coleman Taylor, as king; Linda Murphy, queen; and Janelle Hersey, princess.

Jacqueline Lopez Young McCraw was the first heritage native to portray Queen Mariana. Daniel Drysdale was the first king; and Nancy Pellicer the first princess.

The 2019 trio included Treven Rogero as king; Tiffany Root, queen; and Alexis Johns, princess.

The Royal Trio traditionally appears with an entourage, volunteers who provide their own period dress and volunteer their time and talent to the overall gala. 

About PluggedInto (1620 Articles)
PluggedInto is an ePublication covering news, history, local events and more in the Putnam/Flagler/St. Johns tricounty area.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: