News Ticker

Pilots install at a safe distance

Keeping a safe distance, some Pilots wore masks, others did not.

SAINT AUGUSTINE – Some masked, some not, but all keeping a safe distance, the Pilot Club of St. Augustine conducted a tailgate installation of 2020-21 officers June 3. Setting was the driveway of recording secretary Anne Heymen, with past district governors and past presidents of the local club Rene Naughton and Lynne Stephenson officiating, assisted by Jo Brown, outgoing president. The tailgate of Heymen’s SUV came in handy for items used during the ceremony.

Sellner and Brown

Vicki Sellner is the 2020-21 president, and also installed were Liz Whalen, president-elect; Naughton, corresponding secretary; Heymen, recording secretary; Sara Hetherington and Melanie Morrison, co-treasurers. One-year board members are Stephenson, Kay Burtin and Brown; two-year directors Kay David, Tadzia Alexander; and director in training Jennifer Birge.

Brown reviewed the year’s activities, curtailed by the Corvid 19 virus. Among them were volunteer hours at Port in the Storm assistance organization; sale of caladiums and placement of more than 1,000 flags in front of the Lightner/City Hall building on Memorial Day weekend.


Kay Burtin, a former president of the local club and longtime chaplain, was honored as member of the year for her many contributions, including handling the flag project alone, due to the virus threat. She also has contributed numerous hours to Port in the Storm and to numerous other Pilot projects, including taking and filling orders for the yearly caladium sale.

Brown presented Burtin with an engraved trophy.

As a memento of the occasion, Tadzia Alexander, 2018-19 president, gifts each member with a Pilot paperweight, a copy of a paperweight which was presented to Alexander by the family of the late Hallie Carcaba.

202-21 officers from left: Liz Whalen, Vicki Sellner, Sara Hetherington, Melanie Morrison, Rene Naughton
Board members Lynne Stephenson, from left; Jo Brown, Tadzia Alexander, Kay David, Kay Burtin, Jennifer Birge.
Lynne Stephenson, left, and Rene Naughton conducted the installation. Looking on is Jo Brown, outgoing president.
A true tailgating experience, the SUV was used as part of the ceremony.
Jo Brown presents Vicki Sellner with the president’s pin.
About PluggedInto (1620 Articles)
PluggedInto is an ePublication covering news, history, local events and more in the Putnam/Flagler/St. Johns tricounty area.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: